Customer Reviews for Rock-a-Billy Baby Boots

« Go Back
Average Rating:
3.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 9 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

May 8, 2014
Susan O
The ones that I have made turned out very cute, but there are a few areas that I feel can be improved upon. I found the directions cumbersome. I have the other book with the collection of booties that include the cowboy boot and high top shoes.I make those specific booties all of the time. In comparison the direction for the first book that I got are very clear. Each pair has its own set of directions. Having to go back and forth with the new format in this collection makes it more difficult to follow. I also prefer the directions for the sole of the shoe in older book that I have. I do like the addition of the edge stitching around the sole of the shoe.
March 1, 2014
Valerie S
These are absolutely adorable. I just finished my first pair and am starting my second. Everyone in my stitch-n-b**** group loved watching me make them! I made a few changes with the embellishments though. I wanted the new mom to be able to wash them so I didn't glue the extras on. Instead I left long yarn trails and sewed the hearts and spurs on. I also used thick thread to wrap the pom poms because I couldn't get it tight enough with the yarn. I wouldn't, however, say its for beginners (I'm impressed with Samantha B :-) )
March 1, 2014
Evelyn S
I've enjoyed making these with a "Southwest" color scheme, and they are really cute when made; however, I've had no feedback from my friends (to whom I gave them as baby gifts) as to how they really fit on the baby. If anyone has feedback in that regard, I'd love to see it. ... My concern is that the foot part is too narrow and not deep enough to really accommodate the baby's foot - unless the baby's foot is very, very narrow/skinny. I wish for a wider sole, and at least one more row of height on the newborn-size shoe portion. The next time I make this, I might use this basic design and do a little interpolating to adjust the pattern accordingly.
February 28, 2014
Barbara P
I am a very experienced crocheter and was so excited when I saw these precious little boots for babies. BUT I am completely disappointed that the directions are difficult to understand and sometimes just don't make sense. Some pictures or a video tutorial are definitely needed to accompany this basic pattern. Very, very disappointed because I had someone special in mind that I wanted to surprise with a pair of the girls' boots. I think adding some pictures at the very least would be very helpful.
Annie's Customer Service

Barbara - We do have a Stitch Guide where we give video and written instructions for many different stitches.
February 24, 2014
Samantha B
I just learned how to crochet 2 1/2 months ago and I have absolutely no problem making these boots. I absolutely love the lacey boots and added my own twist with a touch of color on the top and the sole edging. The directions are very straightforward in my opinion and the pattern is well worth getting!
February 22, 2014
Amanda H
This is my favorite pattern to crochet. I have made several pairs and had no trouble at all.

Double Crochet Two-Together: It is worked over two stitches. You yarn over, insert your hook into the first stitch, pull up a loop, yarn over, pull through 2 loops only, yarn over again, insert hook into the next stitch, pull up a loop, yarn over, pull through 2 loops, yarn over, pull through all 3 loops on the hook.

Hope that helps.
February 4, 2014
Janeve S
The instructions are hard to follow. I was hoping to find n online tutorial for help. Crocheting should be relaxing, I think, and these directions are stressful.
Annie's Customer Service

Janeve - We are happy to help you with any pattern questions. You can use our online feature to check for edits or revisions to the instructions by clicking here. If no revision is posted, please follow the on-screen instructions to contact us directly.
February 2, 2014
Monica M
I noticed the other review was "I'd love to crochet them". Meaning she didn't crochet them.
Cute pattern, but the instructions were hard to follow and even had some errors.
It would be helpful if there were more photos to explain some of the instructions.
I've been crocheting for 40 years and don't know how to "join with a double crochet". I looked for a tutorial on YouTube and there were no instructions. So I had to improvise.
The boots are very cute, but unless you are willing to spend some time figuring it out, it's not worth the $8.
Annie's Customer Service

Monica - Join with dc is similar to how you would normally join in a new color, shown here, but using a dc. Hold your new yarn and wrap around the hook twice before inserting in the starting location, yo and pull through lp and proceed as to dc. Hope this helps. Happy stitching!
January 3, 2014
Roseann O
I think that they are adorable and I would love to crochet them
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout