Customer Reviews for The Elmore Method

« Go Back
Average Rating:
2.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 9 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

June 11, 2015
Shan M
I bought my copy when it first came out and have used the Couch Lizard pattern many times! The instructions do take a bit of patience to figure out, but very worth the effort!
September 24, 2014
Kathleen M
The instructions are very difficult to follow. I found myself "translating" to common terminology and even then not really following along. Wish I had read reviews before I purchased.
September 18, 2014
Rochelle G
Like others, I feel there should have been more illustrations on how to make each stitch is made. I am glad I read the review because I was beginning to think that I had a problem in comprehension.

I am a visual person. If I can see how something is done, I can duplicate it. But to try to follow from dubious terms is not easy to me. The application is probably excellent once one learns or figures out how to apply it. It would have been more helpful if both "old" and "Elmore" stitches were demonstrated together, so the difference can be seen. Overall it is still a good book once the stitches are mastered.

A video would indeed be very helpful is demonstrating how each stitch is made.
August 3, 2014
Sarah B
This book was published in 1991, and is supposed to save you time and money. I have found some of the stitches in online tutorials, but I don't see how they save time or money on yarn. I have been crocheting for 48 years, and plan to keep on with the typical stitches and tried-and-true old methods out there.
July 29, 2014
Darlene T
This item should come with a warning that he uses the pencil grip as opposed to the knife grip. He also uses an old fashioned method of holding the yarn. In addition he uses his own terminology instead of common terms, which may cause a lot of confusion. I agree more pictures of the stitches would help, especially with his using of his own terms. I do like his granny square corners using the Tower Pattern and piggyback stitches.
July 12, 2014
Sheila M
I haven't actually tried to work with this yet, but in reply to other reviews...

You can find videos demonstrating this method of starting a project, using modern terms. It's usually called "foundation single crochet".

The "Elmore stitches" are, I believe, what we call "extended stitches". There should be videos out there on these as well. Basically, once you've drawn up a loop, you work that one loop off the hook first, and then complete the stitch as usual. It gives a slightly taller stitch ... good for those of us who have trouble making row gauge. So for an "Elmore single", you would insert your hook in the work, draw up a loop, yarn over, draw through one loop on hook, yarn over, draw through both loops on hook. For the other "Elmore stitches", you yarn over first (however many times needed for height), draw up a loop, work off *one* loop, then work the stitch as normal.

Hope this helps.
July 7, 2014
Patricia A
I really wish I could give this book a knowledgeable star rating, but I find it absolutely impossible to understand what on earth the stitch instructions are trying to say. I have read and re-read and re-read over and over and over, and cannot understand how to make these new Elmore stitches. I think if I could just see a video on how to make the single Elmore, I could then decipher the halfs and doubles and triples. But try as I might, I can't find a video anywhere.

Very frustrating indeed.
May 21, 2014
Lynne L
I am not impressed. The author uses totally different terms for crochet and not enough instructions are given for the foundation row which is the basis for the rest of the projects.
May 6, 2014
Victoria M
I have had this book for over 20 years. I bought this when it first came out. The Baby Diamonds Afghan is my go to baby gift present. I have just about worn my copy out, flipping through the pages over and over again.
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout