Customer Reviews for Simply Elegant Crochet Sweater

« Go Back
Average Rating:
3.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 14 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

August 10, 2015
Kimberly L
ABSOLUTELY the BEST!!! LOTS OF WONDERFUL kind words over my finished top and couldn't be happier! Looking forward to autumn to wear it.
December 5, 2014
Carole H
I have completed the vest version of this piece. I used linen yarn and I simply adjusted the stitches as I went along. When it came to the front issue I did add good number rows (maybe 8 - 10 inches more) in order to make the turn/twist at the low-front level. One need to be a little experimental and certainly do the twist as you go to be sure it falls where you want it to. Not difficult, one just needs to be aware and try it out rather than finish off beforehand. I do, ultimately, love the vest!!
October 20, 2014
Linda R
Having trouble finding the revision and need the assembly directions which should have been included in this pattern.
Annie's Customer Service

Linda - As Marj noted in her email to you there are not any revisions to the pattern. She did provide a clarification to you and we hope that information helped you to complete your project. Let us know if you need any further help.
September 13, 2014
Dorothy I
I have started to make the Simply Elegant Vest and I do not want to have the confession others have had. To began with I am not sure if my yarn is to thin because it is hard for me to see which is the front loop. Do you have a video demonstration available? Please show me what was remedied for the others on the counts.
Thank you Dorothy
Annie's Customer Service

Dorothy - We offer a video for working in the front and back loops on our Stitch Guide on that will help you with this. Here's a link to it
August 7, 2014
Janice J
While the pattern does tell you how many stitches to leave for the sleeves, there is no mention of how to seam the shoulders. She only mentions that the neck should be 8" after the edging is done. Not sure how to proceed from here.

Also, used Caron Simply Soft and the sweater is huge even though it fits the measurements given. I may have to take it apart and redo it.

I won't be buying another pattern from this designer.
Annie's Customer Service

Janice - Glad Marj was able to help you with this pattern and get you back to stitching.
June 25, 2014
Marie H
Agree with Deb B. Have difficulty putting together. Is there a revision I've missed, or is there a really simple instruction I've overlooked or just don't get. Thank you for any help you can give. Love this sweater.
Annie's Customer Service

Marie - We are glad Jenny and Marj were able to help you with this pattern and that your final project turned out so well you have requests to make four more!
June 16, 2014
Deb B
This is a great style & design, using a stitch that is easy to execute & shapes that are wonderfully basic.
However the instructions are lacking when it comes to garment construction. The extra 8 stitches that add to the front length are not even mentioned again in the instructions. It appears from the drape of the garment in the images that they are either pleated or eased into the side seam rather than just leaving the front hanging longer. Clarification on this integral part of the design would, I am sure, be appreciated by everyone including myself.
May 25, 2014
Ellen W
How do you line the seams if the front and back do not have the same number of stitches? Having a heck of a time finding N and L size hooks. Would simply soft yarn work by Caron? Trying less expensive yarn first, while figuring out the pattern.
May 10, 2014
Angela P
Ok love the look. Working on the pattern but the seaming directions have me confused. Not sure how to do the sides. When the front has 8 extra stitches. Please help!
Annie's Customer Service

Angela - Glad Marj was able to help you with this pattern.
April 3, 2014
Megan L
Not sure why this is considered "easy". I can do all of these stitches but this pattern had my head spinning! I also couldn't find this yarn anywhere (even online) I think it is called something else? I regret this purchase. I don't feel confident enough to make this sweater so I am taking the yarn I purchased back. I am very disappointed. I was really looking forward to this.
Annie's Customer Service

Megan - We hope the additional notes and information Marj sent you from the designer helped you to reconsider giving this pattern a try.
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout