Customer Reviews for Crocodile Stitch Boots

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 19 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

July 3, 2014
Derik S
The pattern is well-written and easy to follow, and the finished product looks great. I have only two complaints with it:

The sizing seems way off for the adult boots. First of all, I had to use a larger crochet hook than specified to reach the gauge (5.00 mm vs. 3.75 mm). Secondly, the sizing itself seems to run too small. My mother wears a size 7, so I made the size 6-7 boots to begin with. They ended up being far too small and tight. I took them apart and remade them using the size 8-9 pattern. They were STILL too small and tight. So, I took them apart yet again, and hopefully they will turn out properly with the size 10 pattern and a 5.50 mm hook. I admit I am a "tight" stitcher when it comes to crochet, but having obtained the proper gauge by using a larger hook should've meant a proper fit. So, knowing this, I have a suggestion to others who stitch tightly: use a larger hook, and start with the boot pattern one size larger than you would normally wear. Also, finish ONE sole and ONE body stitching before starting a second one. By finishing the sole and body stitching for only one bootie first, you will have a sort of "slipper" that you can use to determine if it will fit. This way, if it's a little too big or small, you have much less work invested, and it'll be easier to take apart and redo.

Also, if you're making the size 8-9 adult booties, notice that the pattern for the sole ends on an even row count (44), as opposed to the odd row counts for the other two sizes (41/47). It is not mentioned in the pattern, but it will affect the way in which you stitch the last round (sole edging - you will basically complete a 45th row with the first 6 stitches of the sole edging) and how you determine the placement for the stitch markers. Rather than counting 22 stitches counterclockwise, as specified, you will have to count the stitches clockwise, still starting with the last stitch of the edging as #1. Then, proceed counting clockwise for the second stitch marker in the 53rd stitch from the first marker. You will still end up with 48 stitches in the front (toe) section, and 54 stitches in the back (heel) section. Keep in mind that you will still begin the body stitches as directed in the pattern (with the "right side" of your work facing you, toe section at the top, the stitch marker on the left.)

I hope this helps at least a few people avoid confusion and frustration. :)
April 22, 2014
Debra C
Love this pattern! Have made several pairs for friends children and they are just the right warmth for Washington state weather! Once I got the hang of making the scales it was smooth sailing, took a few attempts but well worth the effort, so glad I stuck with it the results are fantastic!
April 20, 2014
Nancy C
I love making these cute booties! I am however having a hard time knowing where to start the Cuff. Do you have a Tutorial video for this?
March 13, 2014
Lucinda B
I love this!! Made many, many pairs for family. My little sister wore hers out so I am going to figure out how to put a solid sole on them! Any suggestions?
March 1, 2014
Evelyn S
I've made several of these in the baby size with the hdc stitches. I discovered that only 3 rows of crocodile stich leg part makes a nice (but shorter) top for wear when you don't want the "boot" look. Keep in mind that these are very "thick" because of the type of stitch used, and are best for really cold weather, as opposed to summer wear. The thickness makes them look bigger than they really are. For those of you having trouble with stitch count ... I suggest you use stitch markers at the beginning of each row on the crocodile stitch rows. That worked for me. Sometimes that first stitch gets so tight it gets "lost" when you come back to drop another stitch into it at the end of the next row. It can really throw your count of if you don't stay on top of it.
February 21, 2014
Elizabeth L
I keep losing stitches when I make the body. I've made several pair so I sorta know what I'm doing. I can make a round, have the correct stitches then when I do the next round I'm off. What do I count. The loops at the top or the posts. The rest of the pattern I have no problem with. Just the body.
Annie's Customer Service

Elizabeth - Marj has contacted you and is waiting to hear more. Please let her know if you are still having trouble.
February 15, 2014
L B
My question is how long will you have the video technique available to the public. These are gorgeous! I want to purchase this, and I remember the basics but when you get to the place of finding what V-stitch to go into, the video would prove very helpful. Thank you.
February 13, 2014
Mai E
I loved it i got it from the first time :) and my daughters wear it all the time thanks.
February 1, 2014
Jean D
Like the pattern. Difficult at first then I finally got the hang of it. Disappointed that there are not directions for making a child's size 2, which is about 8.25 inches long. Would like to know how I can adjust this pattern to make the child's size larger.
Annie's Customer Service

Jean - We are so glad you liked this pattern. Unfortunately we are unable to provide the pattern in that size at this time. We do carry several other patterns that use the crocodile stitch, if you liked the stitch. Just search for "crocodile" on the Annie's site.
January 28, 2014
Shirley |
I love the looks of these slippers ... they are cute! When I got to the scales, I found it very difficult to do them with a hdc so I started working dc instead, and fpdc instead of fphdc. I was then able to finish them and they turned out the way they are supposed to look. I don't think the pattern is correct when it says to work the scales in hdc and fphdc. I think it is supposed to be dc and fpdc. Please let me know if I am wrong. I also put a ch1 at the bottom and the top of the scale.
Annie's Customer Service

Shirley - Hopefully Leslie was able to help you with all your questions about the pattern when she contacted you. Please let us know if you need any more help. We are so glad you like these cute slippers!
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout