Customer Reviews for Simply Elegant Crochet Sweater

« Go Back
Average Rating:
3.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 10 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

August 7, 2014
Janice J
While the pattern does tell you how many stitches to leave for the sleeves, there is no mention of how to seam the shoulders. She only mentions that the neck should be 8" after the edging is done. Not sure how to proceed from here.

Also, used Caron Simply Soft and the sweater is huge even though it fits the measurements given. I may have to take it apart and redo it.

I won't be buying another pattern from this designer.
Annie's Customer Service

Janice - Glad Marj was able to help you with this pattern and get you back to stitching.
June 25, 2014
Marie H
Agree with Deb B. Have difficulty putting together. Is there a revision I've missed, or is there a really simple instruction I've overlooked or just don't get. Thank you for any help you can give. Love this sweater.
Annie's Customer Service

Marie - We are glad Jenny and Marj were able to help you with this pattern and that your final project turned out so well you have requests to make four more!
June 16, 2014
Deb B
This is a great style & design, using a stitch that is easy to execute & shapes that are wonderfully basic.
However the instructions are lacking when it comes to garment construction. The extra 8 stitches that add to the front length are not even mentioned again in the instructions. It appears from the drape of the garment in the images that they are either pleated or eased into the side seam rather than just leaving the front hanging longer. Clarification on this integral part of the design would, I am sure, be appreciated by everyone including myself.
May 25, 2014
Ellen W
How do you line the seams if the front and back do not have the same number of stitches? Having a heck of a time finding N and L size hooks. Would simply soft yarn work by Caron? Trying less expensive yarn first, while figuring out the pattern.
May 10, 2014
Angela P
Ok love the look. Working on the pattern but the seaming directions have me confused. Not sure how to do the sides. When the front has 8 extra stitches. Please help!
Annie's Customer Service

Angela - Glad Marj was able to help you with this pattern.
April 3, 2014
Megan L
Not sure why this is considered "easy". I can do all of these stitches but this pattern had my head spinning! I also couldn't find this yarn anywhere (even online) I think it is called something else? I regret this purchase. I don't feel confident enough to make this sweater so I am taking the yarn I purchased back. I am very disappointed. I was really looking forward to this.
Annie's Customer Service

Megan - We hope the additional notes and information Marj sent you from the designer helped you to reconsider giving this pattern a try.
March 30, 2014
Leah H
Made this sweater and it actually is my favorite to wear to dress up. Cannot remember the name of yarn. Kind of metallic that I bought at yarn store. But I get many compliments. A bit large and kind if grows while you wear it. Will make another one soon.
February 25, 2014
Mona E
I made this sweater with Caron Country yarn - had to reduce the number of rows from 50 to 30 on the back and from 63 to 40 for the front otherwise this would've been huge, but it came out great - I wore it for the first time yesterday and I'm very happy with it.
February 23, 2014
April B
I've made this pattern twice, one in cotton & one in fisherman's wool.
Both beautiful!!! Nice pattern, easy to follow ... I received many compliments on how unique the sweater is.
December 29, 2013
Wanda L
I've made this item twice and I absolutely Love the design. It's easy to make and it's a great design.
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout