Customer Reviews for Learn to Machine Quilt

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 12 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

August 8, 2014
Janice H
I really enjoyed taking this class and following along to create my sampler. It turned out good and gave me the courage to create several lap quilts for my great granddaughters; I used mostly the straight line stitch and stitch in the ditch styles. I am now ready to try the other styles on another quilt that I am making. I have made many quilts and always hand quilted them. I still find that relaxing, but I also like to try new things. Wendy has a nice teaching style and watching her quilt made me want to try it. I did find that I had a hard time making my machine go slower as I am an experienced sewer and like to go fast. My husband devised a stop for my pressure foot and now I can go as slow as I need to. Thanks for a very good class. I know that I will refer to it many more times in the future.
August 6, 2014
Jean H
I had been trying to learn free motion quilting for several months when I took Wendy's class. It was like a light bulb went off and it all fell into place after watching her sew. It does take lots & lots of practice to get feathers, etc. almost perfect. Wendy's class answered so many questions I'd had. I'm almost finished quilting a queen size quilt on my home machine with lots of feathers and pebbles. A year ago I'd never have attempted this. And I'm very proud of how it's turning out. So if anyone is waffling about taking this class, it's well worth taking.
July 31, 2014
Charlena D
I need help in finding the instructor response. I wrote to Wendy Shepared via Ask the Instructor. I have received the e-mail that Wendy has answer my question and for me to check My Notebook. Tell me where I can find My Notebook?
Charlena D.
Annie's Customer Service

Charlena - You'll just need to log in to your account and access your class to find My Notebook. Scroll down to the bottom and you'll see five tabs on the left side of the page and one of those will be My Notebook. Click on that to see Wendy's response.
June 8, 2014
Gail K
Wendy's instructions are clear and precise, making it easier to trust my process and vision. Yes, small flaws are easily hidden by the over-all complexity and impact of the finished product, however, SLOWING DOWN was the best advice. It not only helped my accuracy, but made me feel more in control of the whole process. I'll watch this video many more times as it is the best free motion instruction I've found. Thanks, Wendy and Annie.
April 7, 2014
Ree T
I have been struggling to teach myself to quilt and had almost given up. After watching this video, I had so many questions answered and problems areas corrected. I learned so much and have accomplished a quilting project that is the finest work I have ever done. I cannot tell you how much this video has helped me. I will watch it repeatedly to make sure I get it all. Thanks so much, Wendy.
March 5, 2014
Jennifer T
I am what you would call a very beginning beginner, but I don't even want to consider using ties or sending my quilt off to be quilted. After watching the class, and getting the big foot and walking foot sent via the mail, I am ready to tryout some of the techniques, so when I do get my quilt top ready, I will be ready to tackle some of the free motion ways we were showed. I love these videos, this is my second and I'd ;love to watch more!!!!! I wish she went a little but slower, but that is what pause and rewind are for!!! :)

-Jen
February 25, 2014
Janet L
I have watched this video several times, but I must be the dumbest quilter on the planet. The way you do each block individually is great, and that seems to work for me, but you didn't put the blocks together to form the entire quilt. I need help doing this. I have tried another method, by quilting just the top and the batting together and at the end adding the backing, and still there are a lot of flaws. Please make another video on how to complete the quilt. Thank You!
Janet
Annie's Customer Service

Janet - The individual blocks are for the lessons while learning to machine quilt. To create the quilt a whole piece of fabric is used with individual blocks delineated by quilting straight lines in the fabric. Hope this helps and happy quilting!
January 5, 2014
Peggie B
Not sure why others have not rated this class higher. Probably the best free motion quilting class I have taken. I love how the instructor first draws the stitch on paper and then clearly shows the pattern while sewing.

For me, it worked best to watch one section, try it out to see where problems arose for me, go back and watch again, making sure that I also sketched the pattern and then finally stitch along while watching. Some I had more problems than others, so I just kept repeating the above process.

I have to say that if Wendy teaches any more free motion quilting stitches, I will be on board.
January 3, 2014
Diane S
I have found Wendy's class to be quite helpful and have enjoyed watching and learning new designs. It is easy to see how she is quilting the designs. Wendy does wonderful quilting. I was wondering if you would consider having Wendy make another video on quilting feathers. I would certainly sign up and am sure many other quilters would be interested in it. Everyone loves feathers. Thank you in advance for considering this, I will be looking forward to it.
January 2, 2014
Artie D
The class is very good, I'm learning a lot and would buy other classes.
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout