Customer Reviews for ANNIE'S SIGNATURE DESIGNS: Crocodile Knit Christmas Tree

« Go Back
Average Rating:
3 out of 5 (Reviewed by 13 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

January 23, 2019
Barbara W
Hardest pattern I have ever tried to follow. Sorry, but this will be an UFO for me.
November 9, 2018
Marelva I
Hi Annie,
This pattern is knit but is this available in crochet too..?
Love to make myself one of this but in crochet, thank you, greetings
June 11, 2018
Rosanne H
Can't wait to make this. Love the crocodile stitch. Once made a hooded shawl from it. This will be a perfect Christmas decoration!!!
October 12, 2015
Elaine H
After restarting several times, I am finally about half finished with the tree; exciting but somewhat challenging project for a fairly new knitter!! I am eager to complete the tree, but now am having difficulty in finding a 15" Styrofoam cone (24" circumference) for the base of the tree. Do you have suggestion as to where I could order one that specific size?
It is beneficial to read the comments from others working on the project. Thanks!
Annie's Customer Service

Elaine - We don't have a source for a 15 x 24" styrofoam cone, but you can find a 15 x 5" at Joann.com. If you use that size cone, you can fill out the tree shape using scrunched up tissue paper or other paper.
July 10, 2015
Ingra F
I am left handed and I am having trouble with the scale. I love the pattern and how its looks, can someone help me with the scales so I can do the pattern.
Annie's Customer Service

Ingra - We are happy that we could give you some tips on working this pattern for a leftie.
December 3, 2014
Rose P
I love the tree! I am pretty sure I am doing the pattern right but my question is. The scales will not lay flat. They roll up and I want them to look like the picture. Help, what am I doing wrong? Should the tree be blocked before I sew it together. Any suggestions would be most helpful. Sure would love to finish it by the end of next week.
Annie's Customer Service

Rose - I have a few suggestions / helpful hints for you.
1. If you are using a different yarn then the pattern calls for, it may lay differently.
2. If you bind off each scale too tightly, it will curl up on you more. You might try using a needle one size larger for the bind off stitches just to help keep it loose.
3. The pattern doesn't call for blocking the finished piece. However, you could block before seaming to help smooth everything out a bit more.
November 28, 2014
Jayne F
Help, love this pattern and after a few false starts am doing quite well. However in row 5-7 it says to knit rows 1-3. Have done this a few times but the scales don't seem to lay in the gap of the scales below. They seem to lay on top of the scales of the first set. Do I start row 5 from where the asterisk is on row 1 or just knit as it states.

Hope this makes sense, Thanks in advance.
Jayne
Annie's Customer Service

Jayne - You should repeat it exactly the way the rows 1-3 were knitted before. The way it works is that the scales eventually will be spread out. The look will be that they not are on top of each other, but in reality they are not exactly in-between each other either. They will be, sometimes, a bit more on top and sometimes, a bit less on top. Since you are dec on the WS rows, they will not end up in the same position even if you work the row 1 exactly the same way each time.
November 23, 2014
Marianne T
I initially had problems with the scale pattern. I could not get the correct stitch count in the first row of scales. I found my problem to be in Row 6 of the scale pattern. It says to K1, bind off next 9 stitches. It should be bind off next 10 or bind off the rest of the scale, then P1 from LH needle. More clarity would be good there. Perhaps its semantics but once I figured that out the pattern has been moving along nicely.
Annie's Customer Service

Marianne - When you finish Row 5, you have 11 scale stitches on the needle. On Row 6, you k1, then bind off the next 9 stitches; that process uses up all 11 of the scale stitches. Then you purl 1 stitch from the left needle, so you will be purling one of the non-scale stitches. Finally, you pass the last scale stitch (that was left over after you completed the bind-off) over the stitch that you just purled, then turn to work Row 7.
November 17, 2014
Patricia K
Unable to figure out how to do the scale. Have started this pattern 3 times and when I get to the scale I am stuck.
Please help or is there a video I can watch?

Thanks,
Pat
Annie's Customer Service

Patricia - We have posted a video here to give you an idea of how the crocodile stitch is created. The crocodile pattern is created by working layers of scales. This video is mainly showing the general technique.
We are showing a small scale that starts with 5 sts and is worked in garter st. In some patterns the scales starts with 5 sts, others with 7 sts. Some scales are in garter st like in this video, but others may be in stockinette. In some patterns you work 5 rows back and forth, others 7 rows depending the size of the scale. Each scale works into 1 stitch, and you work all rows of one scale before you continue working the row.
November 14, 2014
Sunny O
I certainly hope I am just 'missing something'! I decided to start this pattern and the first thing I'm noticing is, it doesn't even say how many stitches to cast on (I counted 4 knits and 3 yarn overs ... so 7 total) but HOW does this go together with the 'tree part' where you cast on 109 stitches. (if that is the 'base' for the tree, pics would sure be helpful!) I'm encouraged since the first poster had no problems.
Annie's Customer Service

Sunny - The first part of the pattern on page one is explaining the Special Abbreviation MS (Make scale) with step-by-step photos.
The actual pattern to create the tree begins on page 2 where you cast on 109 sts.
You will see then in Row 1 where the MS is used in the row instructions.
Happy stitching!