Customer Reviews for Beginner's First Doily

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 10 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

June 28, 2015
Brenda S
I have not crocheted since I was about 10 years old. I am now 48 and it was amazing to me how I was able to follow along and create such a neat doily. I am really impressed.
June 6, 2015
I'm returning to crochet after putting my hook down many, many years ago.

I had some lessons off of my neighbor's friend a while back but I still wasn't confident to read charts and actually make things. I purchased this class in the recent Anne's sale; I've watched the video twice and bought the wool to start the project.

Why buy this class, I've been looking for a class for ages that would help me get the basics right and this fitted the bill. I like the fact that you can stop and replay as many times as you want until you get it, I really need this. Clear verbal and visuals which are important and they explain all the small steps involved in making the project. For the money it was an absolute bargain! I also purchased Lily Chin's other crochet classes so I have progression. Plus, I have access to these classes forever.

My goal is to make a crochet garment for myself I am on my way now to achieving this. As a person from Wales in the UK I have to remember some of the different stitch terminology for UK patterns and the different names for the wool but nothing wrong with bilingualism.

Thank you from a very happy customer.
April 23, 2015
Dorene M
Great class! The instructions were clear, and Susan took time to show everything she was talking about. Plus all of the 'extra' info, such as hook size with yarn size, and the blocking are included, which helps a lot. Thanks!
February 15, 2015
Patti F
I enjoyed this very much, and followed along easily. Was very happy that my first doily turned out so well. Will make several more! Thank you for the clear and concise instructions, and the ability to play little sections over and over again.
January 23, 2015
Sk8rgirl L
Not bad for 4.95. I have not yet completed the project. I have watched it to its entirety. I would like to do the doily; then expand it into a larger project. I just need to see what the progression is in order to do so.
December 12, 2014
Chianne E
Great class for beginners as well as good way to remember what you have forgot. I got what I needed after not crocheting for several years. Well spent money!
June 30, 2014
Lavinia D
I never thought that I would be able to make such beautiful work like my Mother used to make, until I came across this class.
Lavinia
April 13, 2014
Carol F
I had a difficult time as the hooks were so tiny and the thread so thin. I tried using a larger size hook and thread, and had some success, but I'm afraid I had a problem with counting, slip stitching, and following the directions were pretty much Greek to me. Am beginner except for granny squares, but I think with time I may just master this great little pattern.
In fact I have two I made I'd like to show you. How can I send into the project images from students?
Carol
January 6, 2014
Susan L
You can find my demonstration of blocking the Beginner's First Doily in the free class called "Blocking Techniques". Annie's put this video class together and gave it to everyone who purchased a crochet or knitting class (it should be in your "bookshelf" of Annie's classes.
January 6, 2014
Sharon P
Very good class. I understood all the instructions. You did not tell how to block the doily and I really needed to see that.
I would recommend this class.
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout