Customer Reviews for Long Hooded Cape Crochet Pattern

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4 out of 5 (Reviewed by 12 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

August 19, 2015
Sonja S
I made the cape using Red Heart yarn in an off white. The pattern went faster than I thought it would. I didn't like the armhole slits. I thought they were too plain so I did a single crochet on one side and on what would be the top side, I used the edging pattern that went around the cape. I love how it looks and feels. I am on the short side so the length was just fine. I plan on make one for my daughter for Christmas in another color.
February 26, 2015
Just got this pattern and can't wait to make it.
Question, how can I make this for a child that wears size 10/12? I'd like to make one for my niece. Thanks in advance!
January 13, 2015
Valerie F
I ordered the recommended yarn and I love the feel of it but how do I join the skeins? If is so slippery that the knots do not stay tight. Is there a trick to joining this yarn or fabric glue that can be used to hold the join?
Annie's Customer Service

Valerie - When dealing with soft or slick yarn, it is recommended that you start your new ball at the end or beginning of a row and then weave in ends. We have sent you some helpful hints for dealing with joining yarn.
October 31, 2014
Fran D
Well, the pattern looks beautiful but I seem to be having problems with it. I have class on Sunday so I will see what I'm doing wrong. My crocheting doesn't look like the design.
Annie's Customer Service

Fran - We are glad to hear Maggie was able to help you understand the pattern.
October 8, 2014
Barbara K
September 5, 2014
Cassandra R
I love this pattern! The yarn was perfect for the pattern because even though there was a lot of yarn the cape is still very light and so soft!
August 10, 2014
Angela B
I love this cape! It works up well and pretty quickly. The arm slits are a bit big but not bad, after all you do want them long enough to put your arm in and raise it so you can work or wear a semi bulky sweater underneath it. I did leave off the hood since I always wear head scarves. I used Caron Simply Soft in a nice grape color and it is gorgeous. I plan on making one in a more neutral gray. Love this pattern and am happy I bought it. I do wish that we could attach pictures so we could share and see reviewers finished items.
August 10, 2014
Angela F
Made this for myself, family those have seen it really like it. I made mine longer than the pattern called for as I wanted my bum covered. Found wonderful black rose buttons from a different source to accent it. The only other thing I would change on the next one is making the hood fuller. It is very fitted on my head.
February 8, 2014
Julia A
I sent them (Maggie's Crochet) an email 1-26-14 about the yardage error on the previous version:
"Love this pattern, but the pattern version I purchased from was different than this one! It says I needed 20.5 ounces of worsted weight yarn. Well half way through this and I knew something was not right. Did a web search and found this site which says 42 ounces needed. So Maggie, what's up with this? I will go ahead and order the second half of the Bernat Satin yarn, (plum heather mist) I am using from Royal Yarns. Thank goodness they have this in stock. Just letting you know what happened..

This was their response:
"We discovered the yardage error in November 2013 and corrected our copies along with Annie's version. From what I have been told recently, Annie's has updated their system with the corrected PDF but you may have received an incorrect version depending on when the pattern was purchased."

Sounds like the old version was corrected here. This is not Annie's Catalog's fault. I had purchased my pattern here on November 30, 2013. I just finished mine too. I like it, but I feel the arm slits are a bit too long personally. I used 6 buttons too instead of five. It is beautiful cape.
February 2, 2014
Linda S
Just completed this cape. I used Tivoli Celtic Aran Superwash imported Irish Wool and the required size H hook. It turned out beautifully. Liked it so much, I decided to make a scarf and small drawstring pouch-type handbag using the same stitch pattern and yarn. I now have a gorgeous 3 piece ensemble which has already turned heads! Perfect gauge and yarn requirements. No problem making it.
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout