Customer Reviews for Long Hooded Cape Crochet Pattern

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4 out of 5 (Reviewed by 10 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

January 13, 2015
Valerie F
I ordered the recommended yarn and I love the feel of it but how do I join the skeins? If is so slippery that the knots do not stay tight. Is there a trick to joining this yarn or fabric glue that can be used to hold the join?
Annie's Customer Service

Valerie - When dealing with soft or slick yarn, it is recommended that you start your new ball at the end or beginning of a row and then weave in ends. We have sent you some helpful hints for dealing with joining yarn.
October 31, 2014
Fran D
Well, the pattern looks beautiful but I seem to be having problems with it. I have class on Sunday so I will see what I'm doing wrong. My crocheting doesn't look like the design.
Annie's Customer Service

Fran - We are glad to hear Maggie was able to help you understand the pattern.
October 8, 2014
Barbara K
I LOVE THIS CAPE PATTERN. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL FOR MY DAUGHTER, DAUGHTER-IN-LOVE, THREE GRANDDAUGHTERS AND ONE FOR A FRIEND AND NOW AM MAKING ONE FOR ME. IT IS REALLY NICE SO GLAD I GOT THE PATTERN.
September 5, 2014
Cassandra R
I love this pattern! The yarn was perfect for the pattern because even though there was a lot of yarn the cape is still very light and so soft!
August 10, 2014
Angela B
I love this cape! It works up well and pretty quickly. The arm slits are a bit big but not bad, after all you do want them long enough to put your arm in and raise it so you can work or wear a semi bulky sweater underneath it. I did leave off the hood since I always wear head scarves. I used Caron Simply Soft in a nice grape color and it is gorgeous. I plan on making one in a more neutral gray. Love this pattern and am happy I bought it. I do wish that we could attach pictures so we could share and see reviewers finished items.
August 10, 2014
Angela F
Made this for myself, family those have seen it really like it. I made mine longer than the pattern called for as I wanted my bum covered. Found wonderful black rose buttons from a different source to accent it. The only other thing I would change on the next one is making the hood fuller. It is very fitted on my head.
February 8, 2014
Julia A
I sent them (Maggie's Crochet) an email 1-26-14 about the yardage error on the previous version:
"Love this pattern, but the pattern version I purchased from AnniesCatalog.com was different than this one! It says I needed 20.5 ounces of worsted weight yarn. Well half way through this and I knew something was not right. Did a web search and found this site which says 42 ounces needed. So Maggie, what's up with this? I will go ahead and order the second half of the Bernat Satin yarn, (plum heather mist) I am using from Royal Yarns. Thank goodness they have this in stock. Just letting you know what happened..

This was their response:
"We discovered the yardage error in November 2013 and corrected our copies along with Annie's version. From what I have been told recently, Annie's has updated their system with the corrected PDF but you may have received an incorrect version depending on when the pattern was purchased."

Sounds like the old version was corrected here. This is not Annie's Catalog's fault. I had purchased my pattern here on November 30, 2013. I just finished mine too. I like it, but I feel the arm slits are a bit too long personally. I used 6 buttons too instead of five. It is beautiful cape.
February 2, 2014
Linda S
Just completed this cape. I used Tivoli Celtic Aran Superwash imported Irish Wool and the required size H hook. It turned out beautifully. Liked it so much, I decided to make a scarf and small drawstring pouch-type handbag using the same stitch pattern and yarn. I now have a gorgeous 3 piece ensemble which has already turned heads! Perfect gauge and yarn requirements. No problem making it.
January 24, 2014
Tammy J
Beautiful pattern. However I purchased the pattern in Nov and the yardage was way under the actual needed. Still waiting to find more yarn to finish my 1st cape. I should have purchased less expensive & more readily available yarn. But I did make another & it worked fine with light worsted weight yarn.
December 30, 2013
Penny A
Worked up nice. I had to use 1 hook size larger (i) but then i work tight. Next one will be a little bit longer and already started on. I like it :)
Cart-At-A-Glance Your shopping cart is empty. Checkout