Customer Reviews for Lisdoonvarna Shawl Crochet Pattern

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4 out of 5 (Reviewed by 13 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

October 5, 2020
Amy J
I'm a beginner but I'm tenacious and persistent. I highly recommend going to YouTube for the videos. I wish this pattern had measurements for each section, i.e. woven section (from the video) should be 3 3/4" wide, which means each arrow section with the low ridge border should be about 3" wide, though it would be helpful to know how wide just the 2 arrow rows should be because that's where I'm having my problem. Would also be helpful to know how long the stole should be without the lace. Also, the gauge information isn't enough. 15 sc is 4 inches, I think, but how many rows? I thought I had met the gauge but right now, after doing 2 and a half arrow sections and 2 woven sections I'm at 13" wide and 65" long for the stole. That is 4 inches short on the width and who knows on the length.

Overall, the pattern is beautiful and I'm pleased with the textures of the fabric that is resulting. I WILL finish it but someone else said it: Not for the faint of heart.
February 7, 2020
Mary C
This works up very beautifully. I made it as a gift for my sister. Her daughter-in -law was there when she opened the package and immediately wanted to try it on. They both loved it and the daughter wanted to keep it for herself she liked it so well. My sister said definitely not. This was hers. Since I wanted this for cold weather use I added a fleece lining to it. So happy I got this pattern and so happy with the way it turned out. I highly recommend.
July 9, 2018
Shweta M
Beautiful pattern. It would have been more helpful if drawn diagram was provided with it .
December 22, 2016
Deborah S
This is a beautiful garment. The other reviews have been so helpful. I was considering making it as a gift. Ha! No way, I will be keeping this one. And, as an experienced crocheted, know I am up for the challenge.
December 13, 2016
Cheryl B
This is a beautiful pattern, but not for faint of heart. Make a practice and write out the notes to keep track of the rows. I love the look.
October 18, 2016
Lisa C
First, let me say I fell in love with the pattern picture and bought the kit with the PDF pattern. The first finished piece is a gift, but I'm going to have to make it for myself, too. While waiting for the recommended yarn to arrive, I've been practicing the pattern stitches. I have found a couple of places where I've had to make adjustments in order to maintain the X4 multiples in the stole sec the pattern itself. I make them at the end of the row so I don't mess up the pattern. I've also found that if I do row 3 (the slip stitch in the front loop) with a larger hook, I don't have the tension problem that pulls that row tight. Never have been able to do slip stitches in the same tension as the rest of my work, don't know why. Anyway, my yarn won't be here for another week or so, so I'll keep practicing and making notes. The lace edging will have to wait until I'm working in the actual stitch counts required.
October 8, 2016
Mary O
Beautiful pattern with excellent how to. Very easy to follow. recommend to anyone who crochets.
January 5, 2016
Deborah G
Beautiful pattern. Though it does use a bit of the imagination and crochet skill to understand what they want in the pattern. After that, it is easy. Not recommended for the beginner.
December 31, 2015
Tammy J
This is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL shawl! Although, like the others, I do find that the pattern is quite challenging, I cannot help but to keep calm and crochet on. I have unraveled the stole section at least a dozen times, but I am determined to complete this project (my husband thinks that I am crazy). In any event, as someone new to crocheting, I have found myself relying heavily on patterns that include the number of stitches that should be counted for at the end of each row. I notice that the pattern starts off with that information in Row 1, but then, after that, I'm on my own. I keep finding that after the Arrow Stitch, I always wind up with 3 dc at the end of the row instead of 2 dc. Is there any way to determine how many stitches I should have at the end of each row? I know there must be a simple way of calculating this information, I'm just not savvy enough of a crocheter as of yet to understand how to do so. Thanks for any help and/or feedback. And by the way, I gave the pattern a 4 thus far because I am still waiting to complete it and, by golly, I will!
Annie's Customer Service

Tammy - We would like to find out more from you concerning your post. Someone from pattern services will be contacting you shortly to see what we can do to help.
June 16, 2015
Sharyn M
I agree with another review writer that there were some inaccuracy challenges in the pattern, but the outcome blessed me with a "Best of Show" ribbon at our 2015 county fair in the crochet division. When the judge held up the shawl, then draped it on her assistant to model for the audience, it clinch a first place blue ribbon before going on to be judged as "Best of Show". I used a yarn that has a small percentage of wool. Unlike acrylics, the wool blend allows for gentle stretching during blocking for the desired sizing.