Customer Reviews for Amamani Puzzle Balls Crochet Pattern Book

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4 out of 5 (Reviewed by 21 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

November 2, 2016
Janet P
I recently purchased this book, I'm making the elephant and I'm up to doing the ears it says to do two however they are both the same so when you put them on opposite sides of the head one is going to be the front and the other is the back which is quite noticeable is there a way around this please
Annie's Customer Service

Janet - because the ears are both constructed the same way, they will look somewhat different. This is how the pattern is written and we don't have instructions for making them match.
February 26, 2015
Laura S
I'm struggling with the elephant head. It keeps coming out crooked. I got to the part hdc and dc part. Are they supposed to be symmetrical on the head? Mine aren't and I could use help to figure out what I need to do to fix it. Thank you.
Annie's Customer Service

Laura - We are glad that our technical editor could help you through the elephant's head so that you could complete your project.
January 23, 2015
Joanne A
Happy with my purchase. However I couldn't find a hook size to work with so had to go to free puzzle ball pattern to know what size to use! I just can't find this info in the book. My apologies if I simply missed it.
Annie's Customer Service

Joanne - The hook size is listed in the "Materials" section of the pattern for each of the animals.
January 11, 2015
Grace S
My first try was the elephant. I absolutely adore the finished toy, and so have my friends (even those who don't do fiber crafts). But I agree with others who said the patterns were difficult to follow. Flipping back to the basic instructions, and then having to re-do because for that specific animal there was a different option needed. I'm going to have to write all over the original pages to remind myself before I do another. (Thank goodness I can do that on the PDFs with Notability)

I did set myself up for some frustration by using a chenille yarn and a ball that I knew didn't have enough. Used a nice contrast color that had a different gauge, but when finished it was stunning. (Thank goodness the pile of the chenille covered the glitches in gauges)

As I said, the completed toy is outstanding, even via Skype, my grandson loved seeing it.

Thanks for posting the revisions, they'll be helpful.

Can't wait to do another.
December 28, 2014
Teri W
I made the lion and the elephant. This pattern is extremely hard to follow. Possibly putting the basics after the animal patterns would help because I started making the lids separately and then found out that they needed to be a continuous link. The lion was easier than the elephant. I learned all the wedge and lid pitfalls from the lion making it easier for the elephant, and then had problems with the head. While there are pictures, everything is the same color (not like the lion). It was hard to follow pattern. On the plus side, once done, my grandchildren loved playing with them.
December 14, 2014
Alice D
I am also having trouble with these patterns. I would love to make these but also having trouble with the head and tail. Could you send me the revision also.
Annie's Customer Service

Alice - Alice - If you have a first printing version we do have a couple revisions posted on our site at the link below.
https://www.anniescatalog.com/pages/customer_care/pattern_services.html?mode=products&criteria=amamani

Let us know if you have any other questions.
November 14, 2014
Luane P
Trying to make turtle my wedges keep twisting around when I put it together, what am I doing wrong.
Annie's Customer Service

Luane - Shirley has contacted you to get more information to help you with this. Please let her know if you still need help with this.
November 14, 2014
Roberta D
I love the patterns. Have made the lion, elephant and giraffe now in the process making the turtle. LOVE THEM.
November 11, 2014
Shirley M
I have made the dinosaur, giraffe & elephant. The people that have seen them love them. Have given them away, and am half way through making another elephant for someone to give to their grandson. They are quick and easy to do once you get used to them. Shall try the lion and turtle soon. Hope you have more of them. I use some odd balls that I have left over.
November 10, 2014
Mary C
I absolutely love making the puzzle balls! I was intimidated at first because I hadn't ever tried anything so complex. The clear directions, photos, and stitch count at the end of the rows really helped a lot! I have made the dinosaur, lion, and giraffe and can't wait to make the others!