Customer Reviews for Learn Continental Knitting

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 54 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

February 2, 2018
Sheila F
Learning to knit has definitely been an interesting process. I chose continental knitting because I enjoy crocheting so much. I have had so many "newbie knitter" questions, and Lena has been very prompt to email answers and explanations. I would recommend to anyone who is taking this class to email Lena with questions. She is a fountain of knowledge. Lena gave me an excellent step-by-step explanation on making the sleeves. It made all the difference in the world. She also gave me an Annie's link for shoulder seams and setting in sleeves. For me, being so new to knitting, Lena has been invaluable. I think that this class, and the sweater project are definitely not for beginners, but practicing the stitches and techniques before trying on the sweater has helped. The sweater project is not a quick to knit item, so be prepared to work, and study the video. Lots of perseverance is needed! I bought a really good knitting book that has tons of pictures. Lena and her guidance definitely warranted a 5 star rating.
January 27, 2018
Bev H
I have only just started to learn this technique. The instructions and camera shots are very clear and I am looking forward to finishing the project. I have had quick responses to my questions thank you.
January 5, 2018
Linda L
I am soooo happy I signed up for this class. It is a new beginning for me as I am an English knitter and find this a brand new experience. As a newbie I am fumbling however know I it is a learning curve and I am improving and impressed with the presentation and the simplicity and ease of Lena's teaching method. She knows her art. I watch the video often and continue to the sweater project. I would highly recommend this class and would not hesitate to purchase other classes she teaches. Linda L
January 4, 2018
Barbara R
This is a great course and the photography/video is easy to follow. Because I have always been an "English-style" knitter, tI stayed away from stranded knitting except mosaic knitting. This video has opened more options to me and makes stranded knitting so much easier. Thanks to Lena for all of her expertise and to Annie's for making the class available.
October 2, 2017
Bj J
This was a great class. Lena does a great job of showing you everything! I am a very very beginner knitter. Experienced crocheter and that is why I wanted to learn the continental as I figured that would be easier to learn. I am still learning, but it is so nice to be able to go back and watch all of her steps. The continuous repeat is wonderful. But I also love how she gives you other techniques you will need for when you master the knitting part of it. Love the class!
August 25, 2017
Dianna A
When I looked at the picture of the Nordkapp Hoodie on the video, I honestly didn't believe that I was going to be able to do it.
I am new to knitting and my first "language" is crochet. However, Lena's instructions were very clear and her delivery was so encouraging. I enjoyed being able to go back and review different parts of the video (it was helpful to go back to the beginning excerpts as the class project progressed), to add annotations - such as the time counter where different steps were presented and to take notes. I am thrilled with my completed hoodie and am definitely going to make another one in a different color. Yes, I made mistakes, but they are mistakes that I have learned how to improve my knitting from and mistakes that only I can see in the sweater. Thanks again!
July 9, 2017
Linda S
I rated this class 4 stars out of 5 stars because, although it was very informative -- like other reviewers I felt that it needed more organization and instruction. I completed the Nordic Hoodie, and it came out better than I expected; however, I had to rely on YouTube for instructions on how to seam the shoulders because there were no instructions on seaming in this class. In addition, while knitting the sleeves, you have to work the pattern backwards in order to stay in pattern -- I figured this out because of my mathematical and analytical skills and typed my own personal instructions for the sleeves. May I suggest that future classes should start from the beginning and follow a step-by-step protocol so that people who are new to knitting have a better understanding? I am an avid crocheter; however, I was taught how to knit when I was 7 years old. When I saw the Nordic Hoodie pattern, I was inspired to complete it. I am happy with the finished product and I will probably knit another Nordic Hoodie in a different color but will consider picking up stitches around the armhole and working backwards for the sleeves next time around.
June 24, 2017
Montea S
Essentially, I am a beginner with limited experience. I only wanted to learn beginner info - continental knit and purl with a small project. If the two stitches (along with what can be done with those two stitches) would have been introduced at the very beginning where they belonged without introducing multiple needles, knitting in the round and so forth, maybe I would have been a little happier with my purchase. This was more like beginner, intermediate, and advanced class rolled into one. I was frustrated by the time I got to 25 minutes or so and haven't gone past that. I'd like to keep it real simple and then I'd like for someone to teach me how to fix a mistake - like a dropped stitch. Save the multiple needles, knitting in the round, and big projects for another class. Actually, I got as much out of a YouTube video as I did this class and it didn't cost me a thing.
May 27, 2017
Marjorie H
Combination of great instruction and filming make this class easy to follow. After knitting English-style for 52 years, it won't be easy to make the switch to continental but I am determined. The fair isle instruction also is well done. Very happy with my purchase.
May 5, 2017
Linda T
Very informative, I have a better understanding of continental knitting. It really help me a lot. Loved the techniques.