Customer Reviews for Learn Continental Knitting

« Go Back
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5 (Reviewed by 54 customers.)

Sign in to write a review.

July 25, 2020
Dee B
Lena was very informative and clear on everything. But I feel the way things were organized was a bit overwhelming. I am an experienced knitter and really wanted to learn this technique because it would be faster. When she brought out the DP needles, I lost interest right away. I know how to use regular and circular needles. Bringing out DP's made me think we were gonna do socks. All I wanted was something simple showing me how to hold my yarn in my left and needle movement in my right for both knit and pearl. Knit a scarf or dishcloth would have been better for me. Too much info, in the beginning, had me wanting to skip ahead. Her instructions are clear, just not what I was looking for. I do a lot of blankets, afghans, and shawls, so what I needed was flatwork.
May 8, 2020
Beth H
I enjoyed Lena's presentation. There is a lot going on in this video that I did not expect, such as the sweater. It looks like a huge project to me. I would have appreciated a simpler design for my first sweater. The hood is complicated.
I could have more time spent on the knit and purl stitches, increases and decreases. The 3-needle bind-off is a bonus...how pretty!
I've tried several times to knit continental, but finally I get it. It's just going to take practice. Lena is a fun instructor to follow, and I would take another class with her as the instructor. Thank you, Lena!
August 4, 2019
Margaret M
I loved this video. I learned to continental doing just the basics of knit and purl in the 70's but I never progressed. Eventually, I stopped knitting all together. I picked it up recently when I went to another town's knit group and I was knitting away on a simple project when one of the ladies from the end of the table asked "What ARE you doing? I said ,"continental knitting". They acted as tho' I was from Mars. So, I felt like I must be doing something wrong. But, I find my cast on is correct ( but I only knew the one cable cast on) and my knits and purls were correct as well as my bind off ( again, I only knew how to do one bind-off). My problems had come years ago when I had tried to do yarn overs and when I made mistakes, I didn't know how to correct them and ended up with a mess. I have learned several new things from Lena and I find her absolutely delightful and would take any course you offered that she was the instructor. I had always wanted to do fair isle and never had the courage. So, thank you very much. I have tried to do the 3 needle bind off but could never get it right. I now think I can do it. I have to projects ahead of the sweater but hope to send you a picture of my finished sweater about Feb/Mar 2020. Thank you again.
July 10, 2019
Joyce G
Just what I wanted to learn.
June 8, 2019
Morgan H
I just have to say I enjoyed the class. For me, I learned a few things I had wanted to do but didn't do it right. I think she was good in how she explained the different stages. I will watch more classes of hers and I give her thumbs up all the way.
February 6, 2019
Julie G
This class is not very usable for me. I think I can use the stitches but the instructor speaks very rapidly and the illustrations are good but I was always having to stop them and replay numerous times.They too go rapidly. She is enthusiastic and that is what is driving the video. Bummer for me.
January 3, 2019
Sally C
Great class I've tried other methods of the continental purl and at last I've found one that works for me, love it.
January 1, 2019
Diane C
I have been hoping to learn the "purl" method for continental method for a long time and Lena saved the day for me. Now all I need do is practice. Thanks Lena and Annie's for your time and energy.
September 15, 2018
Jolene P
This class is good for learning basic knitting for a beginner like me, however the project is way too advanced. Unfortunately I will only be able to practice the stitches. Maybe a simpler project would be more realistic for a beginner class.
February 4, 2018
Nancy B
Excellent class! Lena is a great instructor who goes at the right pace and shows and explains detailed steps in ways that are clear and easy to understand. Loved everything about this class and can't wait to master all of the techniques shown so I can do more and more advanced projects. Thank you Lena & Annies!